01304 827609 info@use-ip.co.uk Find us

Camera and/or NVR?

ralph

Hi Everyone,

I am presently specing a system with just 2 cameras at the moment, and have determined on the following, but will probably add more in the future
DS-7608NI-I2-8P 8 Channel NVR with a 2TB HDD
DS-2CD2346G2-ISU/SL 4MP AcuSense Fixed IR Turret Network Camera With Two-Way Audio and Alarm
DS-2CD2347G2-LU 4MP ColorVu Fixed Turret Network Camera

My question is, with just two camera is there any reason I shouldn't manage the cameras directly apart from the fact that the amount of data stored will be limited to the capacity of the SD Card?

Is there any loss of functionality especially in the area of VCA?

Thanks very much for your advice, I'm a complete newbie at this and the number of variant and option is mind bending!

Last edited:
Hi @ralph

From our experience, there should not be any limitations or loss of functionality when recording to onboard MicroSD card storage, we have actually found that because the AcuSense cameras use quite high bitrates and eat up a lot of your NVRs bandwidth, it can actually be a more stable operation to run multiple AcuSense cameras at max. settings on MicroSD cards rather than an NVR with other cameras where the bandwidth might overload and you may see the image quality of cameras drop or cameras just not stay connected at all.

Also, when running on MicroSD cards you can manage/live view multiple cameras in one place using Hikvision's free iVMS-4200 software

Thank you Dan, That's really helpful. I'll have to look up how to work out how long a 512GB card will last before starting to be overwritten. The software presumably runs from any (multiple?) PCs and you can also use HIK Connect from a mobile device?

Yes, the iVMS-4200 software can be installed on multiple PCs and if you set up P2P or Port forwarding for remote access via the Hik-Connect app you can all add the cameras to iVMS-4200 running on PCs outside your local network.