01304 827609 info@use-ip.co.uk Find us

Can I add a Colorvu camera to HiWatch NVR setup?

mace_786

Hi there,

I'm new to CCTV here and have come across this forum. Firstly got to thank the team and use-ip for the help and assistance they provide - I've learnt more about cctv here today than I ever knew!

A year or so ago, I purchased my first IP cctv kit. I didn't know there was a difference between Hikvision and HiWatch until reading this forum. As a first time customer, I looked at megapixels, poe and number of ports. The system I have is:

Recorder - NVR-108-A/8P - FW 3.4.91 170630
Cameras - IPC-B140 - FW 5.4.5 170921
Hik Connect App on iOS is great.

I've had them recording motion since I've had them and they've been really good. Recently, I've looked at potential upgrades to my system. There doesn't appear to be a FW update available for my nvr. Hikvision have a 5.5.116 200603 update available for the cameras, assuming B140 and B140H are the same. Want to do some reading on the upgrade process before I try it.

I've been looking at Colorvu cameras (impressive) and am considering buying one with a built in mic to add audio to my system. The Hikvision DS-2CD2047G2-LU seems to fit perfectly. A few questions for you more experienced:

- What do you think of the DS-2CD2047G2-LU? I'm assuming I just connect it like any other POE device but turn on the audio settings?
- Do you foresee any compatibility issues with the colorvue camera and the NVR? I'd aim to turn off the led light but my nvr doesn't seem to have the enable Virtual Host option. I think it is crazy that the nvr GUI, web interface of the nvr and web interface of the camera all have access to different settings. Before now, I set up the NVR assuming this had all configuration options on it.
- Is there an option for me to set up the camera on the LAN, save it's configuration and then move it to NVR with the saved config? Virtual Host should really be on by default in all nvr's imo!!