01304 827609 info@use-ip.co.uk Find us

Complete Beginner Advice - Follow Up

benm

Hi all,

I am posting this as a new thread as I have a lot of questions :), but it is a follow up to this one.

I'm going to go for 2x DS-2CD2386G2 Cameras, potentially getting another one later. I might get a Hikvision doorbell too.

1. I have read in another post that now the ColorVu cameras can only turn the white light on when an alarm is triggered. If that is right, don't know if that makes sense as it surely needs the light to see events. But based on my scenario above where I can't have the light constantly on and don't have much ambient light, am I still best to go with the DS-2CD2386G2?

2. What is the best lens type to go for? 2.8mm or 4mm I think are my choices, but not sure how to work out what's best. I just need normal driveway and back garden cameras

3. I would like to go with your recommendation of DS-7608NI-I28P. This has enough channels and is PoE. But If I have a camera plugged into a switch/hub then onto the NVR would this also need to be a PoE switch?

4. What do these seemingly conflicting statements mean from their site on this NVR model? Does this mean I can only use this functionality on one camera? Or maybe one camera at a time but only 2MP cameras? Is this limiting for me??

"Up to 1-ch facial recognition for video stream"
"Up to 4-ch 2 MP (H.264/H.265) video analysis for human and vehicle recognition to reduce false alarm"

5. As this has only 2x HDD slots, is RAID not an option? Would you recommend using some sort of backup device alongside this, or maybe in the cloud?

6. I think 2x 6TB would be more than enough. But I read on WD site that "8TB, 10TB, 12TB, 14TB & 18TB drives are designed to support Deep Learning analytics in AI capable NVRs" - So would I need a minimum of 8TB to allow smart events, etc. in the Hikvision NVR? I understand I can't use H.265+ with this.