01304 827609 info@use-ip.co.uk Find us

Detection on Camera or on DVR?

jengafox

I'm new to this and slightly confused.

It appears I can set line-crossing detection (for example) on the IP Cameras directly, as well as on the NVR (via the webui's). Even more confusingly, it appears they're not synced... if I change the Sensitivity setting on a specific Camera's webui, it does update the corresponding setting on the DVR.

So, what's best practise? Enabling line-crossing detection on the DVR, or Cameras independently, or both? If both are enabled, which takes precedence?

Interestingly, it appears that there's more options to configure in the Camera's line-crossing detection - e.g. Min and Max size, which can be pretty handy.

Make all event settings on the NVR.
Thanks for your reply. Sounds sensible, but the Camera webui offers more settings than the NVR does for the camera - e.g. in the Camera's webui, I've recently discovered the ability to set the 'Min' and 'Max' size for Line-Crossing detection - this is a game-changer for me to reduce false triggers!

It's a newer K-series NVR - a Hikvision DS-7616NI-K2/16P running the latest firmware (V3.4.107 build 190927)

Here's a comparison of how Line-crossing detection config looks like on the DVR webui, vs on the same Camera's webui...

DVR.png

Camera.png

Someone else is going to have to chime in here because I've never seen that. Very strange. I wonder if it's a bug in the newest firmware for the K.

I'm new to this and slightly confused.

It appears I can set line-crossing detection (for example) on the IP Cameras directly, as well as on the NVR (via the webui's). Even more confusingly, it appears they're not synced... if I change the Sensitivity setting on a specific Camera's webui, it does update the corresponding setting on the DVR.

So, what's best practise? Enabling line-crossing detection on the DVR, or Cameras independently, or both? If both are enabled, which takes precedence?