01304 827609 info@use-ip.co.uk Find us

Help with stand alone Hikvision set up

viiking

Hello. Newbie here. So I have some newbie questions.

I am trying to set up a CCTV system which will be used to record events after the event. That is, it is not going to be connected to the internet.

I have a peculiar problem at my holiday home (which does not have internet connected), where kids are defacing the house and damaging things like pulling out plants and overturning rubbish bins. I believe I know who the miscreants are but I want to collect evidence to show the parents and to dissuade this sort of behaviour happening in the future.

I have purchased a Hikvision DS 7600 series NVR and 2 x DS2CD3132 F-I and 2 x DS-2CD2232-I5 cameras. I am trying to find out the exact way they are to be wired up. I have connected the cameras directly to the NVR but no cameras are detected. I have the mouse and cameras connected before start-up. In the main menu on some of the You tube videos it shows a tab which says "Add camera" but this does not come up for me. I have downloaded the SADP program and again this is not helpful.

The questions I have are:

1. Do I need to have a router installed upstream of the NVR? That is, connect the router LAN output to the LAN port on the NVR?
2. Do I then have to connect a computer onto the router to change the camera's ip addresses? If so how? That is, which port do I connect the laptop/s RJ45 cable to on the router? A LAN or a WAN port?
3. Is the router no longer required once the camera's are detected?

If someone has a photo or a drawing of how this is done I would appreciate it. Notably which port connections are used.

Thanks in anticipation.

Hi @viiking

This is quite a tricky setup as you have purchased some very old camera models. (2x32 models were first released in 2013)

Did you purchase the cameras from a site where they could potentially have been secondhand? (e.g. eBay, Amazon, etc...)