01304 827609 info@use-ip.co.uk Find us

HikVision password reset - new box on existing system?

ravity

Hi,

I've moved house and inherited a HIKVision DS-7604 with two cameras hard wired to the device. I've never used CCTV before but I'm ok with computers.

I spent last night attempting to reset the admin password as the original owner no longer knows it. I've used SADP tool to create the file and emailed HIKVision. I've also tried and failed to upgrade the firmware via TFTP (the TFTP tool did detect the box when plugged into my laptop via ethernet but then failed).

I've tried the online password reset tool which is posted whereby you put the date shown on the cameras along with serial, but the firmware on my box isn't the kind where you can double click the bottom left of the admin prompt to be brought to a screen where you can enter the secure code, instead it has a "forgot password" option in the bottom left which leads requires a draw unlock code.

I've read I could get a serial cable and use putty to attempt to flash the firmware to reset the device but before I try that because time is being burnt on this... is it possible to simply purchase a new HIKVision box, plug the existing hardwired cameras into the back of it, switch it on, and take ownership of that new box and get an up and running system? Do the cameras also have passwords and lockouts? Are they somehow paired to the box which means a new box will be a waste of time? If I could simply buy a new HIKVision box, plug in the existing wiring and get setup thats a route I would consider.

Thanks.

Hi @ravity

If the cameras were directly connected to the NVR then they likely were activated with the NVR password.

Depending on the camera models you should be able to hard reset the cameras (the reset button is usually found under the MicroSD card cover) and if you do this when you reconnect them to a new NVR they should activate with that NVRs password.