01304 827609 info@use-ip.co.uk Find us

MacOS "Mac Os supported" claim

macman

Gives a lot of help
Trusted Member
Hi, noob here so a) please make allowances and b) big thanks to use-IP for this superb resource.

I'm about to upgrade an ancient (Bosch Eazeo) CCTV system and settled on Hikvision, primarily because their cameras claim to support my lifetime one and only operating system. Sadly, I didn't find this forum until today.

So, before spending my kids' inheritance I thought I would start by testing a single camera with no NVR, just a POE switch. So I bought a IPC-B640H-Z.

Of course, I discovered immediately that it is not supported by Safari (v12 or 13) or any other Mac browser I've tried (Chrome, Firefox or the execrable Seamonkey). I did download and install the Hikvision Mac web plugin but it made no difference and may not even be installed as I can't see it anywhere. I also upgraded the camera firmware to v5.5.82 bid 190130 but this didn't help. So this isn't my idea of Mac Os support. If anyone has a browser working under High Sierra or later, please could you put me out of my misery?

Undeterred, I downloaded iVMS-4200 for Mac and thankfully this does seem to work although it isn't at all Mac-centric. I have no idea what all the buttons and icons mean because there's no tooltip popup under the cursor when I hover over them. So I looked through the iVMS-4200 manual for Mac looking for clues - but for reasons which currently escape me there is no legend in there which names and identifies the buttons/icons. I wanted to test the zoom on this camera and only found the right button by trial and error...so Lord knows what I may have broken in the process. If someone can point me to a button guide for this software, I'll be so grateful.