01304 827609 info@use-ip.co.uk Find us

NVR Lost Configuration / Settings - DS-7608NI-E2

grubee

Good morning,

NVR: DS-7608NI-E2 / 8P/A – V3.4.96 build 170921
Cameras: DS-2CD2142FWD-I-4MM (4 off) – Default firmware from 2016

Hope you guys can help and great forum :)

We had 2-3 power cuts in quick succession (no UPS!!) and when I checked my cameras a few hours later I got nothing on my devices, connection failed.

I went to the NVR and it was asking for a new password and to confirm the password and also for a camera activation password. I upgraded to 3.4.96 about a year ago and never had a separate password for camera activation. I put these in (I used my old password for the NVR but changed the activation password to something different) and then was prompted with language selection, date and time and these rest of the wizard. I exited the wizard as I thought I was all setup.

I was also asked for a password sequence which I have never done before.

The network settings had gone too and I have no cameras visible.

1. What is the best process to get setup again? I think my configuration has been wiped as my Hik Connect is showing offline too. Happy to reinstall if necessary. Return to factory default?

2. Are the cameras locked to previous setup? Do I need to use SADP tool?

I am competent at plugging directly into the NVR and/or cameras if required.

Thanks for any assistance :)

Last edited:
The biggest issue could be as simple as the router setting a new IP address for your NVR after a power cut.

Use SADP to find your NVR.
Use DHCP in SADP (tick it) to get a valid free IP address for your NVR.
Then untick DHCP in SADP to leave the NVR at that address always (or set it to some address that you prefer).

If your cameras are directly connected to your NVR then SADP will not show them (only the NVR).
You would need to enable Virtual Host in the NVR's settings to individually access each camera's settings.