01304 827609 info@use-ip.co.uk Find us

Recommendations for a 12 Camera System - Darkfighter or AcuSense?

norahbattie

Hi newbie here,

We are looking for a 12 camera install for our domestic property (well that's what we have been recommended). We can't choose between the accusense or dark fighter hikvision cameras and which nvr to go with.

My car was stolen off our drive so I've become security mad. Used to have sleepless nights after the event for about 18 months. Our drive is approximately 6m deep onto our road and our back garden approximately 8m deep.

I have read the info about both cameras but no clearer on our decision.

Hubby would like to go for cheap analogue ones and when prices come down for IP cameras, I don't agree due to quality of image.

We have cat 6 cables everywhere and just need to buy the cameras and nvr/dvr. Our electrician will fit them, my question is....

What cameras to buy and why please?

Thanks

Hi @norahbattie

Our recommendation for spaces that are smaller than 10m would be the DS-2CD2545FWD-I 4MP Darkfighter Mini Dome as it has a shorter 10m IR LED range which makes it much better for covering faces close to the camera without whiting out those which is common if you use the higher power 30m IR of most of the other Hikvision models.

Another option would be the DS-2CD2347G1-LU 4MP ColorVu Turret as these use different hardware/software to achieve a colour image at night, it does have a built-in visible white LED floodlight but if you have street lighting or motion floodlights already in place you can disable the built-in light and just use the light in the scene. There are some examples of what you would see from a ColorVu camera HERE

For the NVR we would recommend the DS-7616NI-I2/16P 16-channel NVR

I use ColorVu cameras and cant fault them they reveal much more detail being colour at night than the previous IR cameras i have used...although that was a few years back so may well be better these days.

Reactions: Dan