01304 827609 info@use-ip.co.uk Find us

Struggling with Set Up - Help Please

yiannistr007

Hi Everyone

Would appreciate some assistance please...got my new HIKVISION camera system with 2 camera units.

It's physically installed etc and I've managed to activate the unit, but that's as far as I've got. I seem to be coming across multiple problems including:

- I am trying to somehow add the cameras onto the system, but it's not picking them up. Whenever I scan a QR code, it just says it's not valid etc.

- I have no idea what network settings to use. The ones displayed in YouTube videos? Or my own?

Apologies, I'm not technical and really need some help around this!

At the moment, the unit is plugged into a monitor and I'm just using the mouse to select from the menu. I can see the cameras are working and I'm getting a feed.

However I am struggling with being able to get them onto the app on my phone, as it's saying it can't scan the QR code and when I type in the serial number apparently it's not valid??

I haven't tried to view the cams via a browser yet.....seems too difficult as I don't know enough about IP's etc.

Any assistance would be very gratefully received Thank you.

Hi @yiannistr007

Do you only have the 2 cameras? do you have an NVR?

If it is just the 2 cameras then you will need to enable P2P in the camera's settings, the screenshot below shows you where to find the P2P settings in the menu:

When you enable P2P you will be asked to create a verification code, we would recommend just using the password of the camera as it makes it easier to remember, you will then need to create an account at Hikvision online Hik-connect portal before then adding it to the app, this explained in this forum post - Hikvision App

Hi

Firstly thank you for helping me out with this. Having issues still. Mainly because I'm clueless....apologies.

- I have 2 cameras yes
- Upon looking at the box, the box says it's a DVR not an NVR (7200 series)