01304 827609 info@use-ip.co.uk Find us

Technomate TM-4 NVR cannot view pictures with mobile data, home wifi is fine

jmaks

Hello, i am a bit of a newbie so would appreciate any guidance please. I have a technomate TM-4 NVR system (yes, i know, old maybe obsolete, not supported, should be replaced etc), all hard wired (cameras to NVR & NVR to home router) which works fine and i am able to view pictures over my home wifi. However, i get an error 'connecting failed' whenever i try to view live pictures using my mobile data/other wifi away from home. All the connections seem to be fine, the NVR is recognised by my home router etc. i tried to change some of the settings on the NVR (enable DDNS, DHCP, PPPOE, UPnP etc), but nothing seemed to resolve the problem. Any advice/guidance/links to look at? thank you

Short answer / busy Monday morning:
1. You have to find your home on the world wide web
2. You have to get through your router.
3. You have to login to your NVR

How far are you getting?

Thank you for your reply. 1st barrier, couldn’t connect to the router (virgin hub 3.0) on www using phone data. So disabled router firewall and that enabled access. Logged into router via phone all fine, still get ‘connecting failed’ message when trying to view cameras on phone. fixed an IP address on nvr & checked gateway on nvr was the same as router IP address, and turned off DHCP on nvr and setup port forwarding on router for this fixed IP address. Still same error. browsed through a virgin media forum and one suggestion is virgin router hub 3.0 does not support ddns so would need to change router to one that supports ddns, and then that may work....not really sure if that is my solution but I intend to contact virgin and see if they can help. Other suggestions appreciate, thanks

DDNS is a service to track changes to your world wide web IP address.