01304 827609 info@use-ip.co.uk Find us

Total cctv novice help needed with my HiLook system please

badayuni92

I am a total novice to the cctv world and following a series of break ins on my street I have had to have cctv installed.

I have had 4 x hilook ipc-t259h cameras installed with a hilook 4k, 4 channel nvr

I am desperately in need of some help with the general settings. I sort of understand the basic settings but I have some questions and would be grateful for any assistance.

1. The camera and nvr can use h265+ encoding. Is it okay to do so? Is there any reported issues when compressing the data this much?

2. To get the best balance of picture and to minimise blur is a shutter speed of 1/25 suitable or is this to slow? Should I change this to 1/50? 2 cameras face my front door overlooking a busy street. I want to clearly be able to see anyone that approaches my door.

3. I am running the cameras at their native res of 5mp but it only records at 15fps and the footage doesn't appear to be that smooth. Would you recommend reducing the resolution to 4mp so I can run the cameras at 20fps. Are there any other settings I can change whilst running 15fps to make the video smoother

4. If using h265 what should the max bitrate be set to please?

5. I have set wdr at 15 and this seems to get the best quality but appears to distort colours any ideas why?

6. Are there any general settings you can recommend for me to get the best picture quality? Including for contrast, smoothness. To capture the best picture at video and at night.

Thanks so much for your help

Last edited:
Hi @badayuni92

1. The camera and nvr can use h265+ encoding. Is it okay to do so? Is there any reported issues when compressing the data this much?