01304 827609 info@use-ip.co.uk Find us

MacOS What is the best Mac Solutions for accessing and viewing cameras?

Ben@Elec-Inn

Hi everyone,

I’m hoping someone can answer me this question.

What is the best Mac Solution for accessing and viewing cameras?

The more I look into it the more I think the answer is buy a windows machine for Hikvision use!

In the office I have a Mac mini M1 chip.

At home I have 2017 intel iMac.

Safari and chrome Browser config works fine. But no live view or playback.

Hik Pro Connect in browser won’t add devices. Or view cameras.

iVMS is horrible on Mac and seems to work depending on device firmware.

Should I be looking at Parallels?

I don’t want to get into this only to find the windows parallels still has issues.

Thanks in advance!

I have no experience of HikVision software on Mac and it's not clear what you mean when you say "iVMS is horrible on Mac..." but I can just say that in my experience HikVision software is pretty horrible on Windows too...

It should be possible to do everything in one place (or do anything in any place) - e.g. JUST use the NVR to configure everything or JUST use iVMS to configure everything or JUST use web interfaces to configure everything. But even today with the newest HikVision cameras/firmware and software it seems this just is not possible. I need to do some things on the NVR itself, some things on web interfaces and some things on iVMS. All these interfaces are completely different and offer different layouts/options. Having live view working on browsers seems to be so hit-and-miss I have given up even trying or expecting it to work and have to do anything that requires live view on either the NVR or iVMS.

My personal view is HikVision hardware is great and very reliable, but HikVision software/firmware is awful.